Click image to enlarge

NEW CALIFORNIA LAW – PLEASE READ!!!

Event Information

New Law Requires Drivers to Give Bicyclists Three Feet
Starting today, Sept 16, California drivers will be required to give bicyclists at least three feet of space when passing. With the passage of AB 1317, California became the 24th state in the U.S. to have a 3-foot passing law. Drivers who violate the law can be fined $35 for the infraction, or up $220 if there is an accident that injures a cyclist.

VTA supports the new law because it makes cycling a safer, more comfortable way to get around Santa Clara County for work, school, shopping and entertainment. Anything that helps people shift from single-driver vehicles to other modes of travel will help reduce the traffic congestion that VTA works to reduce as the county’s congestion management agency.

Additionally, we know that bicycling and transit can be a very efficient, healthy, eco-friendly, and relaxing way to get where you need to go.
Read more about the new law on Headways, VTA’s blog.
Follow @VTA on Twitter, like our Facebook page, or click here to subscribe to updates from Headways, VTA’s official blog.
________________________________________

_